KIDS: State Poet Laureate

{State Symbols Page Header} State Symbols
Connecticut Poet Laureate - Margaret Gibson
2019 - 2022

The Connecticut Office of the Arts is excited to announce the appointment of  Margaret Gibson of Preston as Connecticut's Official State Poet Laureate.

{Margaret Gibson}

A longtime Connecticut resident, Margaret Gibson is the author of 12 books of poems, most recently, Not Hearing the Wood Thrush (Finalist, 2019 Poets’ Prize), as well as a memoir, The Prodigal Daughter: Reclaiming an Unfinished Childhood. Her debut poetry volume, Long Walks in the Afternoon, was awarded the Lamont Selection from the Academy of American Poets.
Additional honors include a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship, the James Boatright III Prize, the Melville Kane Award from the Poetry Society of America (co-winner), the Connecticut Center for the Book Award in Poetry, and three Pushcart Prizes. The Vigil was a Finalist for the National Book award in Poetry in 1993. Her work has been published in such magazines as Connecticut Review, Kenyon Review, The Georgia Review, and Prairie Schooner; and in numerous anthologies, including Best American Poetry, 2009 and 2017; Beneath a Single Moon: Buddhism in Contemporary Poetry; and Atomic Ghost: Poets Respond to the Nuclear Age.
Professor Emerita at the University of Connecticut, Gibson was Poetry Editor of New Virginia Review, 1992-98; and has taught or served as writer-in-residence at the University of Massachusetts (MFA Program), Reed College, Virginia Commonwealth University (MFA Program), and several other institutions nationally. 

The role as state poet is to advocate for poetry and promote appreciation of and participation in poetry and the literary arts among Connecticut’s residents and visitors. Established in 1985, the honorary position serves a three-year term. Gibson succeeds Rennie McQuilkin, who has served since 2015

For further information, contact the Connecticut State Library:

Content Last Modified on 4/9/2019 11:32:21 AM