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Pursuant to Chapter 534, Section 29-161z (b), of the Connecticut General Statutes, all 
Armed Security Officers are mandated to take an 8-hour training and firearms 
qualification course and annually take a refresher course in order to receive and maintain 
the security firearms (blue card) endorsement in their Connecticut Permit to Carry Pistols 
or Revolvers.  This course will insure that Armed Security Officers are trained and 
qualify with the firearms to be carried in their armed security employment.  
 
The Commissioner of Public Safety shall approve individuals to teach the Security 
Personnel Firearms Course.  To qualify as an instructor, applicants must possess one or 
more of the below listed minimum instructional credentials.  Prior to instructor approval, 
applicants must also possess a Connecticut Permit to Carry Pistols or Revolvers, and the 
assigned permit number will be used as his approved instructor number.  
 

1. Connecticut State Police or P.O.S.T. Firearms Instructor  
2. FBI Firearms Instructor  
3. NRA Security Firearms Instructor or NRA Police Firearms Instructor  
4. Other recognized 40 hr. minimum firearms instructor certification, i.e., Smith &        
    Wesson Academy, SIGARMS Academy, etc.  

 
The applicant must also provide a complete lesson plan with all supporting 
documentation, including Phase One and Phase Two of the firearms range qualification 
course. 
 
Long guns, such as rifles and shotguns, are optional.  Should approval be sought to 
conduct optional long gun training in addition to the Security Personnel Firearms 
Handgun Course, the applicant must also provide an additional lesson plan and firearms 
range qualification course specifically for each type of long gun to be taught and utilized 
(i.e. rifles versus shotguns). 
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The initial Uniformed or Non-Uniformed Security Officer Handgun Course shall contain 
a minimum of (8) eight hours of classroom instruction, which shall cover at least the 
below subjects, plus the range qualification.  Only those course lesson plans submitted 
to and approved by the Department of Public Safety shall be conducted.  The required 
subjects are listed below:  
 

1. An Introduction to Handguns, Familiarization and Nomenclature (1/2 hour).   
 
2. Handgun Safety, including Home, Range, and Worksite.  (1 hour) 
 
3. Basic Fundamentals of Handgun Shooting (1 hour). 

 
a. Grip, Stance, Sight Alignment, Breathing Control, Trigger Control, and 

Follow Through 
 
4. Handgun Liability / Use of Force / Use of Deadly Force (2.5 hour). 
 

a. Connecticut Firearm Laws.  
 

b.  53a-3  Definitions, 53a-19  Use of Physical Force in Defense of Person, 53a-
20  Use of Physical Force in Defense of Premises, 53a-21  Use of Physical 
Force in Defense of Property, and 53a-22  Use of Force in Making Arrest or 
Preventing Escape, etc. 

 
c.  Law Enforcement, Use of Force, etc. 

 
5. Handgun Practical Shooting Techniques, Positions / Drawing / Reloading (1hour). 
 
6. Handgun Care / Cleaning and Safe Storage. (Storage Laws) (1 hour). 
 
7. Handgun (plus long guns, if taught) Written Exam to cover topical material, with a 

minimum passing score of 70% (up to 1 hour). 
 
8.  Plus the required Handgun Qualification Course, (time as needed). 
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The Annual Firearms Training Handgun Refresher Course for Armed Security Officers 
shall contain a minimum of 4 hours of classroom instruction covering the below subjects, 
plus the range qualification: 
 

1. Firearms Safety, including Range, Worksite, Home, Handgun Care, Cleaning, and 
Safe Storage  (1.5 hours), 

 
2. Basic Fundamentals of Handgun Shooting, Handgun Practical Shooting 

Techniques, Positions, Drawing, and Reloading (1.5 hours), 
 

a. Grip, Stance, Sight Alignment, Breathing Control, Trigger Control, and 
Follow Through 

 
3. Firearms Liability / Use of Force / Use of Deadly Force (1 hour), 
 

a. Connecticut Firearms Laws 
 
b. 53a-3 Definitions, 53a-19 Use of Physical Force in Defense of Person, 53a-

20 Use of Physical Force in Defense of Premises, 53a-21 Use of Physical 
Force in Defense of Property, and 53a-22 Use of Force in Making Arrest or 
Preventing Escape, etc. 

 
c. Law Enforcement Use of Force, etc. 

 
4. Handgun (plus long guns, if taught) Written Exam to cover topical material, with a       

minimum passing score of 70%, plus  
 
5.    The required Handgun Qualification Course (time as needed).  NOTE:  This course 

will be the same as the Initial Handgun Qualification Course.       
 

NOTE:  All instructors MUST retain the make and model of each firearm used by a 
 student during training and all training records, including but not limited 
 to, the qualifying score of each student with each firearm for a minimum of 
 six (6) years.  This information is necessary to insure compliance with 
 Chapter 534, Section 29-161z (b), and its regulations. 
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THIS IS THE SUGGESTED MINIMUM FIREARMS RANGE 

HANDGUN QUALIFICATION COURSE FOR A CONNECTICUT 
SECURITY OFFICER (BLUE CARD) FIREARMS ENDORSEMENT 

 
 
The Firearms Range Handgun Qualification Course will be shot in two phases.  Phase 
One is a marksmanship skills assessment using two B-27 silhouette targets and 50 rounds 
of ammunition.  The handgun marksmanship skills assessment course will be shot twice 
in succession to ensure proficiency with consistency.  The handgun(s) and ammunition 
used to qualify must be the same used by the applicant while on duty.  A separate 
scorecard must be submitted for each firearm to be carried.  A minimum score of 80% 
will be required for both attempts. Scoring will be determined by shot location in 
the B-27 silhouette target.  The course will require participants to fire from distances no 
greater than 12 yards from the target.  Participants will fire multiple rounds from 
distances prescribed by the instructor and engage both targets.  In addition, instructors 
will assess     the participant’s ability to access and deploy their handgun, reload, clear 
malfunctions, holster, etc…  
 
Phase Two will consist of a minimum of 30 rounds of ammunition and will minimally 
require the participant to demonstrate shooting while moving (forward / backward / 
laterally), from non-traditional shooting positions (i.e., prone, seated, lying on their back, 
etc.) and situational engagements with “friend/foe” targets.  B-27 targets may be utilized 
for this phase and/or targets of the instructors choosing (different color balloons, 3-D, 
mannequins, etc.) 
 
NOTE:  The handgun and type of ammunition used to qualify must be the same as 
 that intended to be used by the applicant while on duty.  A separate 
 scorecard must be submitted for each firearm to be carried. 
 
 During both phases, participants will be strongly encouraged to utilize 
 cover when available.  Instructors will submit courses of fire for Phase One 
 and Phase Two to the SLFU, ATTN: Security Officer Firearms Training 
 Instructor. 
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The Uniformed or Non-Uniformed Security Officer Long Gun Course shall contain a 
minimum of (4) four hours of classroom instruction for initial qualification, which shall 
cover at least the below subjects, plus the range qualification for each type of long gun 
to be taught.  Only those course lesson plans submitted to and approved by the 
Department of Public Safety shall be conducted.  The required subjects are listed below:  
 

1.  An introduction to the specific long gun to be employed (Nomenclature and   
familiarization).   

 
2. Type specific long gun Safety, including Home, Range, and Worksite.   
 
3. Basic fundamentals of type specific long gun shooting. 

 
4. Firearms Liability / Use of Force / Use of Deadly Force. 
 

a. Connecticut Firearm Laws.  
 

b.  53a-3  Definitions, 53a-19  Use of Physical Force in Defense of Person, 53a-
20  Use of Physical Force in Defense of Premises, 53a-21  Use of Physical 
Force in Defense of Property, and 53a-22  Use of Force in Making Arrest or 
Preventing Escape, etc. 

 
c.  Law Enforcement, Use of Force, etc. 

 
5. Type specific long gun Practical Shooting Techniques, Positions / Carrying / 

Reloading / Malfunction/Transition. 
 
6. Type specific long gun Care / Cleaning and Safe Storage (Storage Laws). 
 
7. Type specific long gun Written Exam to cover topical material, with a minimum 

passing score of 70%. 
 
8.  Plus the required long gun Qualification Course, (time as needed). 

 
Long guns, such as rifles and shotguns, are optional.  Should approval be sought to 
conduct optional long gun training in addition to the Security Personnel Firearms 
Handgun Course, the applicant must also provide an additional lesson plan and firearms 
range qualification course specifically for each type of long gun to be taught and utilized 
(i.e. rifles versus shotguns). 
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MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR INITIAL QUALIFICATION 
AND RE-QUALIFICATION FOR FIREARMS RANGE LONG GUN 
QUALIFICATION COURSE FOR A CONNECTICUT SECURITY 

OFFICER (BLUE CARD) FIREARMS ENDORSEMENT 
 
 

INITIAL QUALIFICATION WITH SHOTGUN: 
 

• Minimum 30 rounds for familiarization and “sight-in,” 
• Minimum 30 rounds for qualification, 
• Maximum distance for “00 Buckshot” – 15 yards, 
• Maximum distance for “Slugs” – 50 yards, 
• Utilize B27 Targets, and 
• Minimum score of 80% needed to qualify. 

 
RE-QUALIFICATION WITH SHOTGUN: 
 

• Same as above, without familiarization and “sight-in,” unless needed, 
 
QUALIFYING WITH RIFLES: 
 
Due to the numerous firearms types, configurations, sighting systems, calibers, etc… to 
formulate a generalized training template, all applicants seeking approval to conduct 
optional rifle training must submit a proposed rifle training program.  Approvals will be 
granted by DPS on a case by case basis. 
 
NOTE:  It is strongly suggested that long gun malfunction techniques be 
 incorporated into all initial qualifications and re-qualifications training.  
 
All questions and concerns regarding these training requirements should be 
directed to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit, ATTN: Security Officer 
Firearms Training Instructor. 
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SECURITY OFFICER (BLUE CARD) FIREARMS  
INSTRUCTOR INFORMATION SHEET 

 
Instructor: Name: ______________________________________________. 
 

DOB: _______________________________________________. 
 
Address: ____________________________________________. 

 
City, State, & Zip: ____________________________________. 

 
Telephone: __________________________________________. 

 
Company: Name: ______________________________________________. 
 

Address: ____________________________________________. 
 

City, State, & Zip: ____________________________________. 
 

Telephone: __________________________________________. 
 
Class Locations: 1) __________________________________________________. 
 
 2) __________________________________________________. 
 
 3) __________________________________________________. 
 
Ranges Used: 1) __________________________________________________. 
 
 2) __________________________________________________. 
 
 
ALL INSTRUCTORS MUST SUBMIT A PROPER ADDRESS FOR A HOME 
ADDRESS.  POST OFFICE BOXES WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED. 
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