
 
 
TO:  College Health Services and Administrative Personnel  
 
FROM: Mick Bolduc 

Epidemiologist/Vaccines For Children Coordinator 
Connecticut Immunization Program 

 
DATE: February 1, 2010 
 
SUBJECT: New College Immunization Requirements     
 
Beginning August 1, 2010, Section 10a-155 of the Connecticut general statutes will require that each 
full time or matriculating student provide proof of adequate immunization against measles, mumps, 
rubella  (MMR) and varicella as recommended by the Advisory Committee for Immunization Practices 
(ACIP). Several questions have arisen concerning the interpretation of these requirements. The 
following information should help clarify which students are affected and what documentation is 
required for entry into each institution of higher learning.   A copy of the statute is available at 
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap185b.htm#Sec10a-155.htm 

 
Full Time/Matriculating Students 
The new requirements will affect all full time students as well as all matriculating students. 
Matriculating students are defined as those enrolled in a degree-seeking program. Part time non-
matriculating students are not required to have MMR and varicella immunizations although they are 
recommended to have those vaccines by ACIP.  
 
MMR Vaccine  
Beginning August 1, 2010 all incoming freshman will be required to show proof of 2 doses of 
measles, mumps and rubella vaccine. The doses should be separated by at least 28 days with dose 
number one given on or after the first birthday. Exemptions to this requirement include:  
 

 1. Individuals born before January 1, 1957, 
2. Laboratory confirmation of immunity to such disease,  
3. Documentation from a physician stating that the student is medically contraindicated from 

receiving such vaccine, 
4. Documentation from the student that such an immunization is contrary to his/her religious 

beliefs, 
5. Documentation from a physician or director of health that the student has had a confirmed 

case of such disease, 
6. Students who graduated from a Connecticut high school in 1999 or later and were not 

exempt from MMR vaccinations,  
7. Enrollment in a distance-learning program conducted entirely through electronic media in a 

setting without other students present.   
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Varicella Vaccine 

Beginning August 1, 2010 all incoming freshman will be required to show proof of 2 doses of 
varicella (chickenpox) vaccine. The doses should be separated by at least 28 days with dose number 
one given on or after the first birthday. Exemptions to this requirement include: 
  

1. Individuals born in the United States before January 1, 1980,  
2. Laboratory confirmation of immunity to such disease,  
3. Documentation from a physician stating that the student is medically contraindicated from 

receiving such vaccine,  
4. Documentation from the student that such an immunization is contrary to his/her religious 

beliefs,  
5. Documentation from a physician or director of health that the student has had a confirmed 

case of such disease,  
6. Enrollment in a distance-learning program conducted entirely through electronic media in a 

setting without other students present.  
 
Graduation from a Connecticut high school in 1999 or later does NOT apply to varicella vaccine. 
Adequate evidence of immunity and the exemptions noted above are consistent with the ACIP 
varicella recommendations. Parental or self-report of historic varicella disease is no longer considered 
acceptable evidence of immunity, as naturally occurring infection has declined dramatically and 
clinical illness has become more difficult to recognize. The full ACIP recommendations for prevention 
of varicella are available at http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/rr5604a1.htm. 
 
As always if you have any questions, please free feel to contact my office at (860) 509-7929.     

             

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 


