
 

 

 

 

 

 

This document contains Connecticut regulations for Boating.  This document was 

prepared by the State of Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental 

Protection and is provided for the convenience of the reader. This is not the official 

version of the regulations. The official regulations are published by the State of 

Connecticut, Judicial Branch, Commission on Official Legal Publications in the 

Connecticut Law Journal. In the event there is inconsistency between this document and 

the regulations as published in the Connecticut Law Journal, the Connecticut Law Journal 

publication will serve as the official version. 



BOATING SAFETY REGULATIONS 

General 

 

Sec. 15-121-A9.  Requirements when waterskiing.  

 (a)   A water-skier, his observer, and the boat operator shall use the following hand 

signals for communications: 

  Faster: thumb pointing upward 

  Slower: thumb pointing downward 

  Speed O.K.: Arm upraised with thumb and finger forming circle 

  Right Turn: Arm outstretched, pointing right 

  Left Turn: Arm outstretched, pointing left 

  Return to Drop-Off Area: pat on the head with an open hand 

  Cut Motor: Finger drawn across throat 

  Stop: Hand drawn across throat 

  Skier O.K. After Fall: Hands clenched overhead 

  Pick Me Up or “Watch Out Fallen Skier!”: One ski extended vertically out of the water 

 (b) No person shall operate a vessel towing a water-skier without an observer present on the 

vessel who shall assist the operator and monitor the progress of the water-skier. The observer 

shall be designated by the operator of the vessel and shall be at least twelve years of age. 

 (c)   No person shall stand or sit either on the bow or gunwales of a vessel which is towing a 

water-skier except in an emergency. 

 (d) Each water-skier shall wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved Type I, II, III or V personal 

flotation device, and no vessel operator shall tow a water-skier who is not wearing such a device. 

Not withstanding the foregoing, no person shall use an inflatable personal flotation device to 

meet the PFD requirements of this section. 

  (1) This subsection shall not apply to skiers engaged in barefoot waterskiing who wear a 

barefoot wetsuit designed specifically for such activity. 



   (2) This subsection shall not apply to skiers engaged in trick waterskiing whose 

movements would be restricted or impeded by the bulk of a personal flotation device. For 

purposes of this subsection, a trick water-skier means a water-skier whose equipment and 

activities have all of the following characteristics:  

   (A) Type of skis: for standard double trick skis, length of no more than 46 inches and 

width of at least 8 inches, with no keels on bottom; for single trick ski boards, length of no more 

than 56 inches and width of at least 22 inches, with no keel on bottom;  

   (B) speed of tow no more than 20 miles per hour; and 

   (C) tow rope no longer than 50 feet. 

          (3) The operator of a vessel towing a trick water-skier or barefoot water-skier shall 

make a U.S. Coast Guard approved personal flotation device readily available aboard the tow 

vessel for each such skier who elects not to wear such a device while skiing. 

 (e) No person shall operate a vessel towing a person or persons on an inner tube unless such 

inner tube is fitted with permanent handholds or with a covering with permanent handholds. 

 (f)    No person shall operate a vessel towing a water-skier from one half hour after sunset 

until sunrise or when weather conditions restrict normal visibility to less than one hundred yards. 

 (g)  (1) Kite-skiing or parasailing will be permitted on all waters where unlimited waterskiing 

activity is permitted. Both are prohibited on waters where waterskiing is prohibited or subject to 

special regulation. 

   (2) Nothing in the above shall be interpreted as allowing kite-skiing or parasailing on 

any water when boating pressure by other users makes these activities imprudent because of risks 

involved. 

 (3) Kite-skiers and parasailers shall not fly over or under overhead obstructions 

such as power and telephone lines, bridges; nor shall they fly over dams, locks, docks, launching 

ramps, swim areas, marinas or congested areas. 

      (h)  Except as authorized through a marine event permit issued by the commissioner, no 

person shall operate a vessel towing a water-skier with a tow line greater than one hundred feet 

in length, measured from the vessel tow-post to the water-skier’s tow handle, and no part of any 

such tow line shall include an elastic component, such as a bungy cord, rubber band or similar 

material which readily extends the length of the tow line. 



 (i)   No person shall operate a vessel with a rigid metal tow pole, commonly used in barefoot 

skiing, with the pole at a right angle to the tow vessel, unless the vessel is engaged in towing a 

water-skier from the tow pole or from the stern and at least one person on board the vessel is 

using the tow pole for training. When the vessel is not engaged in towing a water-skier or no one 

on board the vessel is using the tow pole for training, the tow pole may remain on the vessel, 

provided the operator of such vessel ensures that it is dismantled or folded so that it is inside of 

the gunwale and parallel to the centerline of the vessel.  

[December 28, 1967 (Secretary of State File Number (SOSFN): 1172); May 31, 1974 (SOSFN: 

1716); January 25, 1983 (SOSFN: 2916); August 25, 1987 (SOSFN: 3590); June 23, 1988 

(SOSFN: 3716); April 23, 1993 (SOSFN: 4395); September 8, 1998 (SOSFN: 5026); January 3, 

2007 (SOSFN: 5746)] 

 

Sec. 15-121-A10.  Self-propelled water-skis or surf boards prohibited. Operation of wing-

in-ground effect vessels restricted. 

 (a)  No person shall operate a self-propelled water-ski or surf board on the waters of the state. 

For the purpose of this regulation, a self-propelled water-ski or surf board is a vessel propelled 

by machinery, which: 

  (1) Has a width not greater than twenty-four inches, or 

  (2) Is capable of carrying at least one individual who while operating the vessel, has no 

means of steerage other than by shifting his or her body weight. 

 (b) No person shall operate any device on the waters of the state, which tows a waterskier 

who controls the direction and speed of the motorized towing device using remote control lines. 

 (c)    No person shall operate a wing-in-ground effect vessel on or over waters of this state 

unless approval is granted by the Commissioner for recreational operation or from the United 

States Coast Guard, Captain of the Port for research and development or commercial operations. 

For the purposes of this subsection a “wing-in-ground effect vessel” is a vessel that is capable of 

operating completely above the surface of the water on a dynamic cushion created by 

aerodynamic lift due to the ground effect between the vessel and the water surface. 

 

[December 28, 1967 (Secretary of State File Number (SOSFN): 1173); May 31, 1974 (SOSFN: 

1716); August 25, 1987 (SOSFN: 3590); March 9, 2004 (SOSFN: 5496)] 



 

Sec. 15-121-A13.  Personal flotation devices for manually propelled racing vessels.  

 (a)   Racing shell, rowing scull, racing canoe, or racing kayak as used in this section means a 

manually propelled vessel that is recognized by national and international associations for use in 

competitive racing and one in which all occupants row, scull, or paddle with the exception of the 

coxswain, if one is provided, and is not designed to carry and does not carry any equipment not 

used solely for competitive racing. 

 (b) No person on board a racing shell, rowing scull, racing canoe, or racing kayak shall be 

required to carry any PFD on board, provided any such vessel shall be accompanied at all times 

by an escort vessel. Each escort vessel shall accompany no more than three vessels at a time and 

shall keep the escorted vessels in sight at all times, without the use of artificial devices other than 

eyeglasses. The requirement to use an escort vessel shall not apply to any organized race event 

when race organizers have taken steps to provide for the safety of such participants, provided the 

organizer of such event shall give a written explanation of participant safety provisions to the 

commissioner at least thirty days in advance of the event, and the commissioner approves such 

provisions in writing before the event. 

 

[January 13, 1981 (Secretary of State File Number (SOSFN): 2676); January 25, 1983 (SOSFN: 

2916); September 8, 1998 (SOSFN: 5026)] 

 

Sec. 15-121-A14.  Rules for safe operation 

 (a)  No operator of a vessel under power shall allow any person to be on a decked-over bow 

of such vessel while underway unless the bow of the vessel is equipped with a handrail that 

encompasses the bow, and all persons on the bow are inward of such handrail. On vessels under 

power with open bows not decked over, no operator shall allow any person to sit or stand on the 

gunwale at the bow of such vessel while underway. The provisions of this subsection shall not 

apply to persons in or on the bow of vessels engaged in anchoring, mooring, or docking activities 

and proceeding at dead slow speed. 

 (b)  No operator of a vessel under power shall allow any person in or on the bow of such 

vessel to hang any portion of the body beyond the handrail or outside the vessel over the top of 

the gunwale while underway, except when proceeding at dead slow speed. 

 

[August 25, 1987 (Secretary of State File Number (SOSFN): 3590)] 



Sec. 15-121-A15.  Personal watercraft safety restrictions. 

 (a)  The use of personal watercraft, as defined in section 15-140j of the Connecticut General 

Statutes, shall be subject to the following operation restrictions:  

  (1) All persons aboard personal watercraft shall wear a United States Coast Guard 

approved Type I, II, III or V personal flotation device and no operator of a personal watercraft 

shall allow any person who is not wearing a PFD to be aboard such personal watercraft. No 

person aboard a personal watercraft shall use an inflatable personal flotation device to meet the 

PFD requirements of this section.  

  (2) No person shall operate a personal watercraft, or be on board or towed by personal 

watercraft operated by another, between sunset and sunrise.  

  (3) No person shall operate a personal watercraft towing a water-skier and no person 

shall water-ski while being towed by a personal watercraft, except under the following 

conditions:  

   (A) The personal watercraft towing a water-skier shall have:  

    (i) A capacity label permanently affixed by its manufacturer on the personal 

watercraft indicating that the vessel is designed for and capable of carrying at least two persons 

in addition to the operator;  

    (ii) a minimum length overall of 119 inches, a minimum width overall of 46 

inches and a minimum horizontal seat surface length of 39 inches for three person capacity. For 

personal watercraft with greater than a three person capacity noted on the capacity label affixed 

to the personal watercraft by its manufacturer, for each additional person the minimum 

horizontal seat length must be increased by at least 13 inches; and  

    (iii)handholds at or near the rear of the seat suitable for use by a rearward-facing 

observer to conveniently hold on to with two hands.  

   (B) whenever a skier is being towed, there shall be an observer, who is at least twelve 

years old, other than the operator, onboard the personal watercraft towing such water-skier, who 

shall face the skier at all times;  

(C) the number of persons on board the personal watercraft towing a water-skier 

added together with the number of water-skiers being towed shall not exceed the “persons” 

carrying capacity, as indicated on the capacity label permanently affixed to the personal 

watercraft by its manufacturer; and 



(D) the operator of a personal watercraft towing a water-skier and the skier being 

towed shall, in addition to the requirements of this section, comply with all provisions of section 

15-134 of the Connecticut General Statutes and section 15-121-A9 of the Regulations of 

Connecticut State Agencies.  

         (4)  No person shall operate a personal watercraft at a speed in excess of Slow - No - Wake 

within two hundred feet of shore, or of a dock, pier, float or anchored or moored vessel, unless 

said personal watercraft is approaching such float, dock or shore for the purpose of enabling a 

person engaged in waterskiing to take off or land.  

          (5)  No person operating a personal watercraft shall cross or jump the wake of another 

vessel, when within one hundred feet of the vessel creating such wake, in such a manner that the 

hull of the personal watercraft jumping the wake completely leaves the water.  

          (6)  No person less than sixteen years of age, who has not been issued a certificate of 

personal watercraft operation on or before March 9, 2004, shall operate a personal watercraft 

without the onboard supervision of a person who is at least eighteen years of age and in 

possession of a certificate of personal watercraft operation.  

  (7) No person shall operate a personal watercraft equipped by its manufacturer with a 

device for shutting off the engine, known as a “shut-off lanyard”, unless such device is attached 

via a lanyard to the operator, his clothing, or his personal flotation device in a manner which will 

shut off the engine in the event the operator is ejected from the personal watercraft while 

underway.  

 (b) Any operator of a vessel less than sixteen feet in length designed sothat the operator and 

passengers ride on the outside surface of the vessel as opposed to riding inside the vessel, and in 

which the operator and passenger may in the normal course of use fall overboard, and which has 

an internal combustion engine powering a propeller as its primary source of motor propulsion 

shall be subject to the restrictions in subsection (a) of this section. Any such operator shall in 

addition have his vessel equipped with a device for shutting off the engine, known as a “shut-off 

lanyard”, which device shall be attached via a lanyard to the operator, his clothing or his personal 

flotation device in a manner which will shut off the engine in the event the operator is ejected 

from the vessel while underway.  



[November 5, 1991 (Secretary of State File Number (SOSFN): 4202); May 19, 1994 (SOSFN: 

4573); September 8, 1998 (SOSFN: 5026); March 9, 2004 (SOSFN: 5496); January 3, 2007 

(SOSFN: 5746)] 

 

Sec. 15-121-A16.  Posting methods for regulations and local ordinances 

 In the case of any regulation or municipal ordinance respecting the operation of vessels 

adopted pursuant to Section 15-136 of the General Statutes, which regulation or ordinance has 

not been published and distributed in pamphlet form on or before the first day of April in 

accordance with the provisions of Section 15-138 of the General Statutes, the adopting authority 

shall post each affected water body with signs as follows: 

 (a)  Signs shall be posted in a manner and at locations such that the signs are likely to come 

to the attention of boaters. For a regulation or ordinance affecting a lake or pond, signs 

concerning such regulation or ordinance shall be posted at every location where public access by 

boat to such lake or pond is available. For a regulation or ordinance affecting a river or tidal 

water, a sign or signs concerning such regulation or ordinance shall be posted at every location 

where public access by boat to such river or tidal water is available when such location is within 

five miles of the affected water body or portion thereof. 

 (b)  Each sign shall be no smaller than eleven inches in width and fifteen inches in height. 

 (c)    Each sign shall be made of plastic or other waterproof material. 

 (d)  At the top of each sign shall be the words, “notice: new boating regulation” or “notice: 

new boating ordinance”, as appropriate, in letters at least one inch in height. The word “notice” 

shall be on a separate top line. All other letters and numerals on the sign shall be at least three 

eighths inch in height. The sign shall include the actual text of the regulation or ordinance or a 

summary of such regulation or ordinance, as well as the words, “posted in accordance with 

Section 15-138 of the Connecticut General Statutes”, which words shall be printed at the bottom 

of each sign. 

 

[April 23, 1993 (Secretary of State File Number (SOSFN): 4395)] 



 

 

Sec. 15-121-A17.  Personal flotation devices for manually propelled vessels. 

 During the period from October first through May thirty-first all persons aboard a manually 

propelled vessel shall wear a Type I, II, III, V or V Hybrid United States Coast Guard approved 

personal flotation device of appropriate size and in serviceable condition.  Except as provided in 

subsection (b) of section 15-121-A13 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, no 

operator, owner or user of said manually propelled vessel shall allow any person to be aboard 

who is not wearing such a device. 

 

[May 19, 1994 (Secretary of State File Number (SOSFN): 4573); January 3, 2007 (SOSFN: 

5746)] 

 

Sec. 15-121-A18.  Public Safety Light. 

 Vessels engaged in government sanctioned public safety activities, and commercial vessels 

performing similar functions, may display an alternately flashing red and yellow light signal. 

This identification light signal must be located so that it does not interfere with the visibility of 

the vessel’s navigation lights. This identification light signal may be used only as an 

identification signal and conveys no special privilege to the vessel. Public safety activities 

include but are not limited to patrolling marine events or regattas; traffic control; salvage; 

firefighting; medical assistance; assisting disabled vessels; and search  and rescue. The public 

safety light is not a towing light. The light fixture shall be a standard police type beacon, with 

clear, weatherproof lens over a pair of rotating lights; one red and the other yellow. The lights 

shall rotate between 70 and 100 revolutions per minute. 

 

[March 9, 2004 (Secretary of State File Number (SOSFN): 5496)]  



 

Sec. 15-121-A19.  Marine Safety and Security Zones 

 (a)    As used in this section: 

  (1) “Safety zone” means a water area, shore area, or water and shore area to which, for 

safety or environmental purposes, access is limited to authorized persons, vehicles, or vessels. It 

may be stationary and described by fixed limits or it may be described as a zone around a vessel 

in motion; temporary zones may be established by the commissioner, permanent zones, by the 

United States Coast Guard under 33CFR 165, et seq.; 

  (2)  “Security zone” means an area of land, water, or land and water which is so 

designated under 33 CFR 165, et seq. by the Captain of the Port or District Commander of the 

United States Coast Guard for such time as is necessary to prevent damage or injury to any 

vessel or waterfront facility, to safeguard ports, harbors, territories, or waters of the state; and 

  (3) “Regulated navigation area” means a water area within a defined boundary under 33 

CFR 165, et seq., for which regulations for vessels navigating within the area have been 

established under 33 CFR 165, et seq. 

 (b)   The commissioner may, when necessary for the safety of the public or protection of the 

environment, establish temporary marine safety zones on the waters of this state for the purposes 

of restricting vessel traffic. 

 (c)   As described in this section, a temporary marine safety zone shall not exist for longer 

than seventy-two (72) consecutive hours. Only in the event of an environmental disaster, marine 

disaster or public safety emergency shall the commissioner have the authority to extend the zone 

beyond seventy-two (72) hours. 

 (d) No person shall operate, allow the operation of a vessel or anchor any vessel on the 

waters of the state within a zone established under subsection (b) of this section or within a 

marine safety or security zone or a regulated navigational area established by the United States 

Coast Guard under 33 CFR 165, et seq., as amended from time to time.  

 (e)    This section shall not apply to vessels used exclusively by municipal, state or federal 

agencies, or security vessels authorized by the United States Coast Guard Captain of the Port, 

Long Island Sound. 

 

[June 23, 2004 (Secretary of State File Number (SOSFN): 5520); April 29, 2005 (SOSFN: 

5592)] 

 


