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Registration
& Titling

Vessel Titling has Come to 
Connecticut, January 1, 2016

Public Act 14-63

As of January 1, all motoboats and all sailboats 19.5 feet 
in length or longer are required to be titled through the 
Department of Motor Vehicles IF:

• They have a model year or construction date of 2017 or 
later; and 

• They are registered in Connecticut where Connecticut is 
identified as the state of principal use; and

• They are NOT documented with the United States Coast 
Guard or titled in another state.

The fee for titling a vessel is $25.

Watch for more information on the DEEP and DMV websites!
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Registration of your vessel and learning the laws of 
boating are essential to be safe on the waterways 
of Connecticut. Just as you must have a vehicle 

registration of your car, you must have a Connecticut 
Certificate of Number (registration card with assigned 
registration number) and two validation decals to legally 
launch, moor or operate your boat. The only exceptions 
are:

• Non-motorized boats;
• Sailboats less than 191⁄2 feet in length;
• Boats registered in other states using Connecticut
   waters for 60 days or less;
• Boats documented with the U.S. Coast Guard using   

       Connecticut waters for 60 days or less; and
• Boats owned in countries other than the United  

       States.

Vessel Registration
When you purchase a vessel, you are responsible 

for seeing that it is registered. The Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV) is the agency that handles boat 
registrations. Evidence of ownership must be submitted 

at the time of registration. The bill of sale will suffice. 
Upon receipt of the application and fee, a Connecticut 
Registration Number will be assigned. A Connecticut 
Certificate of Number (registration card) and two 
Connecticut Validation Decals will be issued. A Certificate 
of Number is valid until April 30th of the decal year. 
Owners of boats, which already have been registered, 
will be sent a renewal notice from the DMV by mail. 
Connecticut registration numbers stay with the boat as 
long as it is registered in the state.

A vessel is considered properly registered when you 
have a valid certificate on board and your numbers and/or 
current decals are properly displayed. (Exception: Recently 
registered boats operating under a temporary certificate 
of number need not display a validation decal until 
provided by the DMV.) Visit www.ct.gov/dmv and search 
“watercraft registration” for more information.

Position of Registration Number  
and Validation Decals

The Registration Number must be at least three inches 
high, contrasting in color to the hull background and in 
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Correct display of numbers
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2" spaces

Not over 3⁄4

correct spacing of registration number and decal
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  starboard side

  port side

validation decals
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Vessels Numbered by Other States  
and Reciprocity

Documented vessels and vessels numbered by 
another state, which are moored, docked or operated 
more than 60 days in Connecticut 
in any calendar year, must obtain 
a Connecticut Certificate of Decal 
from DMV and display a current 
Connecticut validation decal (but not 
a Connecticut registration number) 
on both sides of the bow. In addition, the owner 
must acquire a boating certificate that is recognized 
by Connecticut in order to operate the vessel on 
Connecticut waters. Connecticut boat users should check 
and obey local laws when operating in other states.

Note: Every entity leasing, renting or otherwise 
providing slips, dock space, dry storage, or moorings 
for vessels not registered in Connecticut  is required 
to maintain a list of such vessels.  Transient vessels 
need not be listed.The list must be available during 
normal business hours for inspection by any boating law 
enforcement officer. The rules for information collected 
differ slightly for those entities that provide such 
space by lease and those that provide such space by 
membership.  Any questions, please contact the Boating 
Division regulatory unit.  (CGS Section 15-150a)

Certificate to Be On Board
A Certificate of Number or Certificate of Decal must 

be on board the vessel whenever the owner or any 
person authorized by the owner is aboard, except that 
rented boats may carry a rental agreement in lieu of a 
certificate.

Taxability of Vessels and Trailers
As a general rule, when a Connecticut resident or an 

individual who maintains a place of abode in Connecticut 
buys a vessel or trailer, the 6.35% Connecticut sales or 
use tax is due.

Out-of-state residents or nonresident entities that 
have purchased a vessel with the intent of using it in 
Connecticut waters must pay a Connecticut use tax. 
This Connecticut use tax liability must be reported on 
the “Individual Use Tax” line of the purchaser’s Form 
CT-1040 NR/PY Connecticut Nonresident Income Tax 
Return. This use tax can be offset by documenting that 
sales or use tax has been properly paid to another state 
or municipality.

For Further Information: Call the Department of 
Revenue Services during business hours, Monday 
through Friday: 1-800-382-9463 (in-state), or 860-
297-5962 (from anywhere) TTY, TDD and Test Telephone 
users only may transmit inquiries anytime by calling 
860-297-4911.

Hull Identification Number (HIN)
The Hull Identification Number (HIN) is a unique, 12 

digit number, assigned by the manufacturers to vessels 
built after 1972. HINs identify one vessel from another. 
The HIN is usually found on the starboard side of the 
boat’s transom. The HIN should be recorded by the 
owner and put in a place other than the boat in case 
warranty problems arise or the vessel is lost or stolen. 
Owners of registered vessels manufactured after October 
1, 1972, that do not have a HIN should call the Boating 
Division at 860-434-8638.

Boat Rentals
A rented vessel that is required to be registered must 

display “BL” numbers. The rental agreement must be 
carried onboard.
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block form. It must be painted on or attached to both 
the port and starboard bow of the vessel and positioned 
so it is visible and legible from at least 100 feet away. 
The registration number must read from left to right 
on both sides of the vessel. A Validation Decal must be 
placed two inches to the right of and in line with the 
assigned registration number. No other letters, numbers 
or validation decals (other than the current ones) may be 
displayed.

Change of Address/ Change of Ownership/ 
Change of Registration Status

If you change your address or sell or otherwise dispose of 
your vessel, you must, within 15 days and in writing, notify 
the Department of Motor Vehicles, Marine Vessel Section, 60 
State St., Wethersfield, CT 06109. In the case of an address 
change, keep your Certificate of Number on the boat after 
updating the address on the back of the certificate.


